Regency attire on a budget: Shoes

Any Janeite has fantasized about being Lizzy or Emma, walking the fields in a Regency gown or having a dance partner twirl you around the ballroom in a sweeping dress. I have great respect for the folks who have period-accurate ensembles, but I just don’t yet live in a state where I can afford such fineries.

While I’m slowly building a Regency wardrobe, I thought I’d share some modern “cheats” I’ve been researching to save myself some money and get items that could serve a dual purposes.

I found these fabulous shoes today at Ross (because I dress for less!). They’re from Carlos Santana‘s line and cost just $20.

$20
$20

For comparison purposes, here are some actual Regency shoes.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 4.03.42 PM

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 4.04.54 PM

 

And here is a pair from American Duchess that is retails for $105. It can also be worn without the ribbon.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 4.07.16 PM
American Duchess – $105

I think you can also easily find simple pointed flats just about anywhere.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 4.12.13 PM
Target – Starting at $21, comes in multiple colors
Forever21 - $29.90, comes in black
Forever21 – $29.90, comes in black

And there’s no reason why you can’t dress them up with some fabric and ribbon of your choosing! Here’s an amazing tutorial that turns a pair of flats into some gorgeous Regency shoes.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 4.18.00 PM

Of course, I’m always a fan of simple ballet flats that you can take from the office to the ballroom.

Let me know if you have any Regency-ready shoes you love! Share your favorites in the comments.

  • Admin B
One thought on “Regency attire on a budget: Shoes

  1. Hi! I just stopped by to let you know that I really liked going through your post! Very cool, interesting (and stylish too!) keep it up!
    Come check out my blog if you get the time, would love to know what you think!
    Keep blogging!
    Love,
    Mimi
    Ps. Great timeline of shoe history!

Leave a Reply

