WWJAD: O Captain, My Captain

whatWouldJaneDo

Dear Jane,

I really screwed up. I listened to some terrible advice and dumped my high school sweetheart years ago and now he’s back in my life. Understandably, he wants absolutely nothing to do with me, but I can’t help but think of what a mistake I’ve made every time I see him. He joined the navy after school and now he’s back after deployment and hanging out a lot with our old friends. I keep seeing him at parties and gatherings and I try to act like what we had wasn’t special, but I’m lying to myself. I want him back so badly, but I feel like I’ve ruined my chances forever. Please Jane, I’m in need of some good advice this time: What do I do?!

Sincerely,

O Captain, My Captain

 

Dear O Captain,

Who doesn’t have ex troubles? You sound like you can relate to our dear Anne Elliot. If you still have feelings after all these years then take the risk! It’s so much worse to never know than to face the moment of rejection. Sure, it’s terrifying to bear your soul to someone, but you’ll toss and turn at night if you don’t know!

Why not try gauging how he feels in shared social settings? Try chatting and catching up. See how eager he is to talk to you. If there may be hurt feelings on his side then try to address them. Lay it out so you can both just get everything aired.

After that you should take the chance. What have you got to lose? Another night of lost sleep?

Sincerely yours,

Drunk Austen

 

-Admin B is a journalist, filmmaker and nerd.

Leave a Reply

