WWJAD?: Stuck in Limbo

whatWouldJaneDo

Dear Jane,

I’m so confused. There’s this guy that I like but he’s sending mixed signals. One moment we’re having a great time and the next, he’s canceling our next date. What do I do? I don’t want to come off as too needy, but I want him to know that I like him, and want to spend more time with him. On the other hand, if he’s not into me, I’d rather know now and cut my losses. I am friends with his sister and she seems nice enough, but she’s not giving me any strong signals that he likes me either. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. What Would Jane Austen Do?

Sincerely,

Stuck in Limbo

 

Dear Stuck in Limbo,

Mixed signals are the worst! We know from poor Elinor Dashwood that not having a clear talk with that special someone can end in tears, disappointment and secret fiances.

I would consider how long you’ve been dating before having a drastic talk. If you are just starting something then take a moment to assess what you’ve seen so far. Sure, the sister is giving you vague signals, but maybe that’s because she doesn’t know either. See how the next date goes, but make sure you leave the scheduling up to him since he canceled.

If you have been dating awhile, and you feel like you’re comfortable enough to talk “feelings” then bring it up the next time you go out. Again, leave the next date in his court.

I think you’re right in wanting to know how someone feels before getting too deep. It’s frustrating to play the waiting game, but when it comes to relationships and emotions I think it’s always good to use some Sense and Sensibility 😉

Sincerely Yours,

Drunk Austen

 

-Admin B is a journalist, filmmaker and nerd.

One thought on “WWJAD?: Stuck in Limbo

Leave a Reply

